Mike Dougherty's Blog

This Elvis is spectacular, too | July 26, 2010

I’m a St. Louis Cardinals fan. I always have been.

But having spent most of the last 20 years of the past century in Texas, I reached the point of making the Texas Rangers my “American League team.”

Sometimes I record the Rangers game to watch late at night after I watch the Cardinals game. Yes, I’ve enjoyed seeing Benton and the U of A’s Cliff Lee pitch since his trade from the Seattle Mariners 10 days ago. But the part I really enjoy is seeing Elvis Andrus play shortstop for the Rangers.

I first noticed him at Arkansas Travelers games when Andrus came through North Little Rock playing for the Rangers’ double-A affiliate, the Frisco RoughRiders, at Dickey-Stephens Park in 2008.

He was signed by the Atlanta Braves in 2005, but was one of five minor-league players sent to the Rangers for first baseman Mark Texiera and pitcher Ron Mahay on the major-league trade deadline July 31, 2007.

Andrus is not the finished product yet, but he is fearless and makes spectacular defensive plays that some players would not consider attempting. He continues to improve each year.

His first year in the minors, 2005, he posted a fielding average in the .920s, and gradually improved into the .940s by the time he played for Frisco. He had a .968 fielding percentage his rookie year with Texas in 2009, and so far this year is fielding at a .974 clip. And, he has hit a respectable .270 or so at the plate, stole 33 bases last year and has 24 to date this year.

The native of Maracay, Aragua, Venezuela, will not be 22 years old until Aug. 26.


Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment