Mike Dougherty's Blog

Dizzy’s move worth the wait | November 18, 2009

Darla Huie ran a great restaurant, Dizzy’s Grill and Bistro, in Benton for a number of years. It was classy, beautifully decorated, yet still had an air that welcomed the casual diner. It was perfect for meeting someone for a business lunch or taking your bride out for a romantic evening.

When I heard last summer that she had decided to move her establishment to Little Rock, I was excited. I knew Saline County residents weren’t looking forward to losing it, but working in downtown Little Rock and North Little Rock made it good news for my co-workers and me.

Huie and staff opened their doors Nov. 3 as Dizzy’s Gypsy Bistro at 201 Commerce St., where the old Vermillion Grill was located. It is a great-looking place, complete with a new vertical neon sign on the corner and an outside eating area up front.

The result is a good one. A menu already diverse with soups, salads, sandwiches, pasta, burgers and great desserts has been expanded with steaks and seafood.

My wife, Nancy, and I met a friend for dinner there Nov. 6, eating on the veranda or whatever they have chosen to call the open-air area. I had to try the steak and they delivered — the prime rib was perfect. Nancy loved her pasta and Joyce liked her salmon.

Last week, I met a work associate-friend for lunch and we both enjoyed “The Wedge” sandwich and fries. Excellent.

The food is wonderful, the atmosphere is great, the staff is friendly and the service is good. What more do you want from a restaurant?

One more thing: Dizzy’s Gypsy Bistro is close enough to reach on foot, which is good for my health.


Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment